We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Your Lib Dem Candidates in the 2021 Local Elections

April 16, 2021 10:17 AM
Originally published by Folkestone and Hythe Liberal Democrats

Tim PraterThe Liberal Democrats will be fielding candidates in three divisions of Folkestone East, Folkestone West and Cheriton, Sandgate and Hythe East. The Green Party will be fielding candidates in Hythe West, Romney Marsh and Elham Valley divisions.

Folkestone and Hythe Liberal Democrats and the Shepway Green Party agreed not to stand against each other in the six Folkestone and Hythe seats being fought in May's Kent County Council elections.

Local teacher Aston Mannerings is also standing for the Liberal Democrats in the Folkestone Central ward by-election to Folkestone Town Council.

There is more on the Liberal Democrats priorities for Kent at http://folkestone-hythelibdems.org.uk/en/article/2021/1395588/the-liberal-democrat-six-priorities-for-kent

Update 16/4/21: following the tragic death of Labour Party Agent and Candidate Chris Deane, the Elham Valley Kent County Council division election and the by-election for Hythe East ward to Hythe Town Council have been postponed as required by law for up to 35 days after 6th May.

In Cheriton, Sandgate and Hythe East, Tim Prater will stand for the Liberal Democrats. In the 2017 County Council elections in the same division, Tim came a clear second to the Conservatives.

In the 2019 District Elections, Tim took the formerly safe Conservative seat of Sandgate & West Folkestone (which is a large part of the division) with 55% of the vote.

Tim has lived and worked in Sandgate since 2004. He is an experienced Councillor and campaigner, having served at different times on Kent County Council, Folkestone and Hythe (and before that Shepway) District Council, Folkestone and Hythe Town Councils and Sandgate Parish Council. He has long campaigned to Save Princes Parade, and has moved three votes at District Council in the last two years to try to do so.

You can learn more about Tim Prater's campaign for Cheriton, Sandgate and Hythe East at http://folkestone-hythelibdems.org.uk/en/article/2022/1394076/vote-for-the-best-councillor-for-cheriton-hythe-east-and-sandgate

Harry Scott-SansomHarry Scott-Sansom has been selected for Folkestone East division. Harry lives in Wear Bay Crescent in Folkestone East, is 24 and newly engaged to Chelsea.

Harry works as a Finance Manager and enjoys video games, cycling and darts in his spare time (COVID-19 permitting). If elected to Kent County Council, Harry is particularly keen to campaign to join up services to make sure no-one sleeps rough locally, improve community mental health support, and push for new ecological preservation policies.

Alison PermbertonAlison Pemberton will stand for Folkestone West division. Alison is 68 and has been married to Brian for 46 years and is a mum and a grandma.

Now retired, Alison has had two careers - one in local journalism and the other in the public sector, dealing with communications and media enquiries for the county council and later for the NHS.

If elected to Kent County Council, Alison is particularly keen to stand up for local people in relation to the M20, fair funding for social care and equal education opportunities for all children.

Aston Mannerings

Aston Mannerings is the Liberal Democrats' candidate in the Town Council by-election in Folkestone Central on May 6th.

Aston is a local teacher who lives in the ward, and has lived in Folkestone for over 20 years.

Every vote for Aston will be used to work positively towards a cleaner Folkestone, a more environmentally friendly town, a better deal for younger residents and seeing new life brought to our town centre and shopping areas.

Official election notices for the May 6th 2021 elections are available on the Folkestone and Hythe District Council website at https://folkestone-hythe.gov.uk/elections/may-notices