Christmas arrangements from Folkestone & Hythe District Council

November 22, 2018 10:48 AM
By Folkestone and Hythe District Council
Originally published by Folkestone and Hythe Liberal Democrats

Changes to recycling and waste collections

Please note: if your collection is normally on Tuesday or Wednesday, this will change. Please see below:

Your normal collection day Your revised collection day
Monday 24 December No change
Tuesday 25 December Saturday 22 December
Wednesday 26 December Saturday 29 December
Thursday 27 December No change
Friday 28 December No change

Rubbish bags / bin bags

Collections return to normal from Monday 31 December.

Bad weather may change or delay collections, please check folkestone-hythe.gov.uk for updates.

You can get automatic reminders for your recycling and waste collection dates over Christmas and throughout the year by signing up to email alerts.

Garden Waste

Garden Waste collections take their usual two week break at Christmas - the last collection is on Friday 21 December and collections start again on Monday 7 January.

If you want to sign up for fortnightly garden waste collections go to folkestone-hythe.gov.uk/garden-waste

To recycle your real Christmas tree for free go to folkestone-hythe.gov.uk/christmas trees

Opening hours

Civic Centre Civic Centre, Castle Hill Avenue, Folkestone:

Monday 24 December closed
Tuesday 25 December closed
Wednesday 26 December closed
Thursday 27 December 8.30am - 5pm
Friday 28 December 8.30am - 5pm
Monday 31 December closed
Tuesday 1 January closed
Wednesday 2 January 9.30am - 5pm
Thursday 3 January 8.30am - 5pm
Friday 4 January 8.30am - 5pm

The Wednesday morning drop-in service at New Romney Town Council, High Street, New Romney will be closed on Wednesday 26 December and it will re-open on Wednesday 2 January (9am to 12pm).

Hythe Swimming Pool

For opening hours at Hythe Swimming Pool, please visit folkestone-hythe.gov.uk/hythe-pool

In an emergency

If you need to contact Folkestone and Hythe District Council in an emergency while our offices are closed please call 01303 221888

Free Christmas Parking

We want to encourage shoppers into our great town centres and support our local traders. That's why we waive charges in council car parks and on-street parking bays on the three Saturdays before Christmas.

You can park for free in council 'Pay and Display' car parks and on street parking bays on:

  • Saturday 8 December
  • Saturday 15 December
  • Saturday 22 December

If you live in the district, you can apply for a permit to park in all our car parks at any time of the year for just £60. Go to: folkestone-hythe.gov.uk/parking/permits